FAQ - MD Licensing

Question: How do I become licensed in Kansas?

Answer: To begin the process you may apply online or download the fillable application. You will be asked to complete the application, and collect information. You will mail in your application form, documentation, a $300 application fee, a $3 NPDB Report and a $47 background check fee. You will be assigned an application analyst that will track your documents as they arrive in our office. After all of the paper work has been received, your file will be sent to review. This review might result in a request for additional information or clarification of provided information. Once the necessary materials have been received, reviewed, and the application is deemed complete, staff may approve your application for licensure or the Board will act upon your application at their next regular meeting. The Board meets in the months of February, April, June, August, October and December. Following approval of the application, you will be notified in writing of your permanent license number.

Question: Does Kansas Require a Criminal Background Check?

Answer: Yes, effective January 1, 2009, a criminal background check conducted by the KBI and FBI are required on all initial applications and reinstatement applications. To obtain a criminal background check all applicants will be required to submit fingerprints in an approved manner and a $47.00 fee to the Board. Fingerprinting should be conducted by a person who is appropriately trained to collect fingerprints. Your local law enforcement agency should be willing to assist you with completing the fingerprints. Some enforcement agencies offer electronic scanning (Livescan). A list of Livescan options is available on our website. Have at least one form of picture identification for the law enforcement agency to examine. Agencies may have an additional fee for gathering fingerprints. To obtain a fingerprint card please call 785 296-7413 to have one mailed.

Question: Can I obtain a full license while still in a post-graduate program?

Answer: As specified in K.A.R. 100-6-2(a,b):

  1. Each applicant for licensure in medicine and surgery who is a graduate of an accredited school of medicine shall present to the board proof of completion of a postgraduate training or residency training program that is at least one year in length. This program shall have been approved by the council of education of the American medical association or its equivalent in the year in which the training took place.
  2. Each applicant for licensure in medicine and surgery who is a graduate of an unaccredited school of medicine shall present to the board proof of completion of a postgraduate training or residency training program that is at least two years in length. This program shall have been approved by the council of education of the American medical association or its equivalent in the year in which the training took place.

Question: How can I pay my fees?

Answer: We accept checks, money orders, Debit, Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express. To charge to your debit or credit card, please use the authorization form.

Question: How long does the application process take?

Answer: It is important for you to understand that the process takes an average of 4 to 8 weeks. Information is not only coming from you but also various organization and other sources that require time to process your request and provide the needed verifications.

Question: When does my license cancel?

Answer: All Medical Doctor licenses cancel on August 1; the license must be renewed annually.

Question: When do I renew my License?

Answer: The renewal period begins May 15 and ends July 31.

Question: How do I renew my license?

Answer: To renew your license, login or register in the online portal. The online renewal is available annually May 15 – June 30 and July 1 – July 31 for late renewal. If technical assistance is needed with your online renewal, please call our IT department at (785) 296-4878.

Question: How do I renew online?

Answer: To renew online you will need to have available your Kansas Board of Healing Arts license number, birth date, last 4 numbers of your social security number, name and license number of all health care professionals that you supervise (if required), continuing education CEU hours (if required), proof of malpractice insurance coverage (if required) and payment information. Follow this link to renew online. The online renewal is available annually May 15 - June 30 and July 1 – July 31 for late renewal.

Question: What are the renewal fees?

Answer: Active/Federal Active – Online: $330; Late Online: $400; Paper: $400; Late Paper: $600. Inactive/Exempt – Online: $150; Late Online: $175; Paper: $150; Late Paper: $200.

Question: I did not renew by the deadline of June 30th, what do I do now?

Answer: We will accept renewals until July 31. Renewals completed July 1 through July 31 will incur a late fee.

Question: I did not renew by July 31st, now what?

Answer: On August 1, your license status is Cancelled – Failure to Renew. You cannot practice in Kansas as a Medical Doctor, until you reinstate your license to Active, Federal Active, or Exempt. Practicing after your license is cancelled may subject you to disciplinary action.

Question: My Kansas license is cancelled, how do I reinstate my license?

Answer: You will need to complete the reinstatement application and pay the associated reinstatement fee(s). You may be required to submit evidence of completion of continuing education. Depending on the circumstances, reinstatement may require additional testing, training, or education as the board deems necessary.

Question: How much and what type of CME is required?

Answer: One-year update: 50 hours with a minimum of 20 hours of Category I and a maximum of 30 hours of Category II, Two-year update: 100 hours with minimum of 40 hours Category I and a maximum of 60 hours of Category II, Three-year update: 150 hours with a minimum of 60 hours Category I and a maximum of 90 hours of Category II.

  • Category I continuing education shall mean a continuing education activity that is presented by a person qualified by practical or academic experience, using any of the following methods: lecture, panel discussion, workshop, seminar, symposium, or any other structured, interactive, and formal learning method that the board deems to meet the requirements of subsection. Practice Handbook ref. section 100-15-5.
  • Category II continuing education shall mean attendance at a lecture, panel discussion, workshop, seminar, symposium, college course, professional publication, in-service training, or professional activity that the board determines does not meet the requirements of category I, but that is in a health-related field indirectly related to healing arts skill and knowledge. Category II continuing education shall include the following: Clinical consultations with other healing arts Practitioners that contribute to a Practitioner’s education, participation in activities to review the quality of patient care, instructing healing arts and other health care Practitioners, patient-centered discussions with other health care Practitioners, participating in journal clubs, using searchable electronic databases in connection with patient care activities; and using self-instructional materials. Practice Handbook ref. section 100-15-5.

Question: Am I required to have professional liability insurance (malpractice insurance)?

Answer: If you have an active status license in Kansas, you are required to obtain and maintain professional liability insurance of not less than $200,000 per occurrence (per claim) subject to not less than $600,000 annual aggregate for all claims made during the policy period and to participate in the Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund. "K.S.A. 40-3402".

Question: How do I change my address with the Board?

Answer: Complete the Address Change Form and email it to KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov. You may also mail it to our office.

Question: How do I change my name with the Board?

Answer: Complete the Change of Name Form and email it to KSBHA_Licensing@ks.gov. You may also mail it to our office. To obtain a certificate with your new name, complete the Request for Additional Certificates Form, and pay the fee.

Question: What are the various Licensure Types/Designations?

Answer:

  • Active: A license issued to a person authorizing the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathic medicine and surgery, chiropractic or podiatry. Applicants for active licensure must provide evidence of professional liability insurance (which will be in effect as of the date of licensure) in compliance with Kansas law before a license will be issued. Each active license may be renewed annually. Licensees must maintain and submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education. Licensees must maintain and submit evidence of professional liability insurance, and contribute to the Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund (more information about this fund can be found here: https://hcsf.kansas.gov/).
  • Exempt: A license issued to a person who is not regularly engaged in the practice of the healing arts or podiatry in Kansas and who does not hold oneself out to the public as being professionally engaged in such practice. Each exempt license may be renewed annually. The holder of an exempt license is entitled to all the privileges of their branch of the healing arts and (1) may serve as a coroner or as a paid employee of a local health department as defined by K.S.A. 65-241; or (2) practice as a charitable health care provider for an indigent health care clinic as defined by K.S.A.75-6102. Additionally, the holder of an exempt license may perform administrative functions. The holder of an exempt license may be required to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education, but is not required to have basic coverage or self-insurance in effect.
  • Inactive: A license issued to a person who is not regularly engaged in the practice of the healing arts in Kansas and who does not hold oneself out to the public as being professionally engaged in such practice. An inactive license shall not entitle the holder to practice the healing arts in this state. Each inactive license may be renewed annually. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education and is not required to have basic coverage or self-insurance in effect solely because such person is no longer engaged in rendering professional service as a health care provider.
  • Military Active: A license issued to a person who is in the military service (active duty in the army national guard, coast guard or any branch of the military reserves of the United States) and for six months following release there from. No licensee shall be required to pay a renewal fee, submit a renewal application, obtain continuing education or meet other conditions to maintain a license while such licensee is in the military service. No license of any licensee shall expire, lapse or be canceled, revoked or suspended because of the failure to timely renew such license, including the failure to meet any conditions prerequisite to renewal, during the period of military service. A licensee who desires to engage in or practice an occupation or profession in this state after release from military service shall submit, within 6 months after such release, but not later than 2 weeks after engaging in or practicing such occupation or profession in this state after such release, the renewal fee required by law for the current license period with a completed renewal application. A licensee who submits the renewal fee and completed renewal application in accordance with this section shall not be charged any late payment fees or penalties. The license of a licensee who fails to renew the license may be canceled, revoked or suspended in accordance with the applicable law. A licensee who is required by law to obtain continuing education as a condition prerequisite to renewal of a license shall be given a one-year period of time for fulfillment of such continuing education requirement, such period of time to commence on the date the licensee submits the renewal fee and completed renewal application.
  • Federal Active: A license issued to only a person who meets all the requirements for a license to practice the healing arts in Kansas and who practiced that branch of the healing arts solely in the course of employment or active duty in the United States government or any of its departments, bureaus or agencies or who, in addition to such employment or assignment, provides professional services as a charitable health care provider as defined under K.S.A. 75-6102. Continuing education, expiration and renewal of a license shall be applicable to a federally active license. A person who practices under a federally active license shall not be deemed to be rendering professional service as a health care provider in this state and is not required to have policy of professional liability coverage in effect.

Question: How do I change my license type?

Answer: To change your license type at the time of renewal, simply change the license status type on the renewal form. If you are wanting to change your license type outside of the renewal period, complete the Designation/Type Change Form. Documentation of continuing education hours and additional fees may be required, depending on the license type.